JB Sales Learning Lab

John Barrows' brand new newsletter

Helping elevate the people and profession of Sales by sharing authentic conversations, practical tips, expert advice, relevant tech and real-world lessons from my experience selling every day. Delivered to your inbox every Saturday. 

It’s finally here.

I’m super excited to finally launch my newsletter!  This isn’t written by AI, my team, or any type of ghostwriter. This is all coming straight from me. 

The reason I’m launching The Learning Labs Newsletter is because Sales has always been a tough profession and now it’s harder than ever.  No one has all the answers. But between my own experience selling every day and the access I have to incredible experts and resources I plan on sharing everything I’m learning with everyone that wants to level up with me. 

Here’s what I’ll be sharing this week and the categories moving forward:

SALES FROM THE STREETS: Getting out of a Negative Tailspin

TACTICAL TIPS: Reduce “No-Show” Rates

SALES TECH & TOOLS: ChatGPT + 10Ks in less then 2 minutes

CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT: Newsletter Feedback

If there is anything specific you want me to include in this newsletter moving forward or if there’s something I can help you with feel free to email me directly. 

Let’s Make it Happen! 

SALES FROM THE STREETS

Dealing with adversity 

Have you ever had everything fall apart on you, so much so that it made you doubt everything you were doing?

That happened to me at the beginning of 2023 when the Tech/SaaS industry came to a screeching halt. 95% of my clients were in Tech and while they underwent restructuring of their businesses, so did I.  

Through all that chaos, I was reminded of this scene at the end of the movie ‘The Martian’ with Matt Damon where he says: 

“At some point, everything is going to go south on you. And you’re going to say this is it, this is how I end. You can either accept that or get to work. You just begin. You solve one problem and then you solve the next one and if you solve enough of them you get to come home.”

I wrote about this a while ago in a blog post called “Getting out of a negative tailspin.”

It’s about focusing on what you can control and finding the little wins to start to build momentum in a positive direction. 

I know a lot of people who are struggling out there and can’t seem to get out of the rut they’re in.  As Tony Robins would say - “change your state.”  

If you’re really struggling, feel free to reach out to me on Instagram with a note or a video.  I’ll respond with some of the ways I’ve been able to deal with all the stress and challenges I’ve faced along the way.

TACTICAL TIPS

Improving your meeting “show” rates

Demos are one of my least favorite parts of the entire sales process.  Most of them are canned with limited engagement and/or value to the prospect. 

That’s why so many clients don’t even show up to a scheduled meeting unless it is something they’re extremely interested in and need.

There’s a lot to unpack when it comes to running an effective demo but there is one technique you can use to significantly improve your ‘show’ rates.

I recently did a workshop for my JB Sales members with Mor Assouline from Demo to Close on how to run an effective demo. He shared how he sends out an agenda before the meeting to build trust and show the client he’s prepared which significantly reduces the ‘no-show’ rates.  

The agenda email includes:

  • Some observations of what you know about their business 

  • Insights into some issues they might be facing 

  • What you’ll be covering in the call

    • Qualification info  

    • Specific challenges/pain and the impact   

    • (custom) 

    • (custom)

    • Next steps 

Check out the 44-second clip on my YouTube channel where Mor explains the approach (and be sure to subscribe to my YouTube channel while you’re there).

SALES TECH/TOOLS

 ChatGPT 10k Analyzer 

ChatGPT and all the other AI tools have fundamentally changed Sales in many ways. If you're not already using some of them to drive efficiencies throughout the sales process then you better get started.

“Sales reps aren’t going to get replaced by AI, they’re going to get replaced by other Sales reps who learn how to use AI.”

So many people ask me how to get started using AI. I tell them that is a great question to ask AI :).  Seriously, though, just stop using Google and start using ChatGPT or one of my favourite tools, Perplexity.

I’m using AI to put my business acumen and meeting prep on steroids.  For instance, have you seen how ChatGPT helps you analyze 10Ks or Earnings Reports?  

It analyzes them and gives you a summary of the key findings, and challenges and then aligns your company’s value proposition and even comes up with messaging you can use to reach out to the client with or in your presentations. 

You need the paid version of ChatGPT to get the full benefit but here’s a link to a document you can use with the unpaid version to get similar results. 

ADDITIONAL WAYS YOU CAN LEVEL UP YOUR SALES GAME 

  • The JB Sales Membership is where you’ll get access to my live training, workshops, AMAs and OnDemand catalogue so you can level up your sales skills every day!  (2000+ people have already joined)

  • The industry-leading Make it Happen Monday Podcast where you’ll get insights and inspiration from some of the most interesting and influential people in the world of Sales and business.

  • The JB Sales YouTube channel with practical tips that you can apply immediately to drive results along with interviews and content that is guaranteed to get you to think differently. 

How did I do with my first newsletter?  It would be amazing to get your feedback and thoughts. Let me know what you’re thinking and I’ll keep adding more value to this newsletter.

Take this 2 Question Multiple Choice Survey (and thank you for helping!)

That’s it for this week. See you next Saturday.

JB